Welcome

Carces information
How to get here
Accommodation suggestions
Eateries

Carces Agenda
Exhibits
Concerts
Conferences
Sports & leisure
And...
Important Dates for Green Provence

Carces Visit
The history
What Carces means to Provence
The terrain of Provence
At the time of the Gauls
Roman Provence
The Counts of Provence
French Provence

Carces Local life
Documentation
Associations
Leisure

Games
Epostcards of Carces
Carces SlideShow
Photos and wallpapers
Puzzle
Sudoku
Memory game

 

Version françaiseDeutsche versionVersione italianaNederlandse versie

Texte tiré du livre : Notre Provence (7 Mo) by F. Garrigue et A. Vérola
Texte relu et corrigé par Alain Blanchet (professeur d'histoire-géographie à Lyon)



The Counts of Provence

Automatic Translation

Invasions the dynasty of Bosons
Counts of Barcelona and Provence counts of Anjou

I. INVASIONS

The happy time of the Roman domination finishes for our area into 406. From this date, the invasions of the Barbarians follow one another. In turn, the Visigoths, Ostrogoths, Burgondes, the Franks devastate our country, sowing everywhere the ruin and desolation. In 536, the Franks settle definitively on our premises and one can believe that one better era will start. Alas! The plague prevails initially. In 52 years, four epidemics bring the famine. Then leprosy makes its devastations. Close to each city draws up a leper-house where are exiled the unhappy ones reached by the plague. Beaten in Poitiers, Buckwheats ebb towards Provence and, with the chances of their rides, plunder Arles, Aix and Cimiez. Because of their richnesses, the monasteries attract them particularly. They make low hand on the liturgical objects, massacre the nuns of the convent of Saint-Sauveur in Marseilles and the monks of Lérins. Driven out on several occasions by Charles Martel, they return unceasingly. In 890, they are established in the solid mass of the Moors, in Fraxinet (today Guard-Freinet), from where, during one century, they hold to ransom the populations with impunity. The Norman ones unload in the Camargue, but their appearance is of short duration.

Return upwards

II. THE DYNASTY OF THE BOSONS (879-1112)

It is marked by the efforts of the counts de Provence to make itself independent. Charles the Bald person gives capacities extended to the counts and the dukes. His/her brother-in-law, Boson , man ambitious and intrigant, are made proclaim king de Provence (879). He chooses Arles like capital and takes the title of "king of Arles". For better defending oneself against the king of France, it is declared vassal of the Emperor of Germany. It thinks that the Emperor is a remote Master, consequently of few being able. It hopes to be released soon from its new suzerain. Also, in spite of several wars, the kings of France cannot charm its title to him. Guillaume the liberator has the merit to dislodge Buckwheats and definitively to drive out them of Provence (973). Guillaume III benefits from the excommunication of the emperors of Germany by the pope to regard itself as independent. It is the time of the Feudality during which each small lord is in fight with his neighbors. The Church reaches the top of its power. The offerings of believing, poor or fortunate, enrich the abbeys by Montmajour and Saint-Victor. New abbeys are created (Apt, Lagnes, Sylvacane, Montrieux). Benefitting from this preponderance, the bishops continuing their civilizing role, protest against the fights of lord with lord from which the peasants suffer so much, by imposing the "Truce of God". About return of Clermont, where it had gone to preach the Crusade with the populations of North, the pope Urbain II speaks in Avignon, Cavaillon, Apt and Arles. Filled with enthusiasm, Provençaux cross 100.000 pennies the command of the count Raymond de Saint-Gilles.

Return upwards

III. COUNTS OF BARCELONA AND PROVENCE (1112-1246)

These Catalan princes are very good for the vençaux­;Pro on whom they reign during more than one century. Raymond-Béranger Ier, count de Barcelone, obtain by marriage the county of Provence, except the area of Arles which belongs to the counts de Toulouse. Raymond-Béranger III puts an end to the revolt counts Baux, which claims with the crown of Provence. Alphonse Ier imposes silence to the counts de Forcalquier by marrying his son Alphonse II with their heiress. Raymond-Béranger V must reconquer the cities which benefitted from the embarrassments of its predecessors to make itself independent. Very loved for its simplicity, for its good-naturedness, remarkable administrator, it pacifies Provence from which it restores finances. It is then with the head of the one of the most powerful countries of Europe. He is equal large kings of the time, from Saint-Louis in which it Marie her elder daughter Marguerite. When he dies, he bequeaths the crown of Provence to his fourth daughter, Béatrix, which marry little after Charles of Anjou, brother of king de France.

Return upwards

IV. COUNTS Of ANJOU (1246-1486)

Charles of Anjou controls prosperous, rich, radiant Provence then by his language and his manners. He wants to increase his field. He is made appoint king of Deux-Siciles (Naples and Sicily) and buys the kingdom of Jerusalem. To preserve the kingdom of Naples, its descendants will be obliged to fight without truce against the Spanish princes of Aragon. In this fight, Provence will lose best its wire and, ruined, will see the end of its independence. Under the reign of Louis II, the pope Clément V comes to settle in Avignon (1305). During 72 years, the popes remain there and make build celebrates it castle, superb specimen of the architecture of the time. Robert, wire of Louis II, designates his Jeanne grand-daughter like heiress, with the great displeasure of prince de Duras, his nephew, claiming with the crown. Jeanne lives very little in Provence. She prefers her beautiful kingdom of Naples. She designates as Louis successor of Anjou, brother of Charles V, king de France. Evincé, Charles of Lasted makes it choke (Reading). The towns of Nice, Puget-Théniers, Barcelonnette do not recognize the authority of the new counts. They separate from Provence and are put under the supervision of the dukes of Savoy (1388). The three grandsons of Louis of Anjou will be successively the last three counts de Provence:

  • Louis III reigns little of time. Winner of the Aragoneses in Naples, it cannot prevent them from plundering Marseilles.
  • Rene inherits Provence and the kingdom of Naples. Simple and modest, he loves his people of which he is the idol, but he is not happy. Betrayed and too good for the traitors, it loses the kingdom of Naples. It spends its last years to Provence: in Tarascon, Peyrolles and especially in Aix where he dies in 1480 (Reading).
  • Charles of Maine inherits in his turn. With its death (1481), obeying the wishes of king Rene, it bequeaths our country to Louis XI, king de France. It begs it "to preserve freedoms and the franknesses from its subjects and to maintain them in the pleasure of their rights and their uses"
  • Charles VIII takes possession of Provence in I486.

Thus, separate in 879, Provence goes back to France in 1486. Only, Comtat Venaissin and the county of Nice will be a long time separate.

accueil Carces

Carces pratique
Plan d'accès
Quelques hébergements
Restauration

Agenda Carces
Expositions
Concerts
Conférences
Sports & loisirs
Et aussi
Dates site Provence verte

Visite Carces
Histoire
Carcès en Provence
La Provence physique
Au temps des Gaulois
La Provence Romaine
Les comtes de Provence
La Provence française

Vie locale de Carces
Dépliants Office Tourisme
Associations
Loisirs

Jeux Provence
Cartes postales virtuelles
Diaporama de Carcès
Photos et fonds d'écran
Puzzle
Sudoku
Mémoire

 

English versionDeutsche versionVersione italianaNederlandse versie

Texte tiré du livre : Notre Provence (7 Mo) par F. Garrigue et A. Vérola
Texte relu et corrigé par Alain Blanchet (professeur d'histoire-géographie à Lyon)



Les Comtes de Provence

Les invasions La dynastie des Bosons
Les comtes de Barcelone et de Provence Les comtes d'Anjou

I. LES INVASIONS

L'époque heureuse de la domination romaine se termine pour notre région en 406. A partir de cette date, les invasions des Barbares se succèdent. Tour à tour, les Wisigoths, les Ostrogoths, les Burgondes, les Francs ravagent notre pays, semant partout la ruine et la désolation. En 536, les Francs s'installent définitivement chez nous et l'on peut croire qu'une ère meilleure va commencer. Hélas ! La peste sévit d'abord. En 52 ans, quatre épidémies amènent la famine. Puis la lèpre fait ses ravages. Près de chaque ville se dresse une léproserie où sont exilés les malheureux atteints par le fléau. Battus à Poitiers, les Sarrasins refluent vers la Provence et, aux hasards de leurs chevauchées, pillent Arles, Aix et Cimiez. A cause de leurs richesses, les monastères les attirent particulièrement. Ils font main basse sur les objets du culte, massacrent les religieuses du couvent de Saint-Sauveur à Marseille et les moines de Lérins. Chassés à plusieurs reprises par Charles Martel, ils reviennent sans cesse. En 890, ils s'établissent dans le massif des Maures, au Fraxinet (aujourd'hui La Garde-Freinet), d'où, pendant un siècle, ils rançonnent impunément les populations. Les Normands débarquent en Camargue, mais leur apparition est de courte durée.

Retour vers le haut

II. LA DYNASTIE DES BOSONS (879-1112)

Elle est marquée par les efforts des comtes de Provence pour se rendre indépendants. Charles le Chauve donne des pouvoirs étendus aux comtes et aux ducs. Son beau-frère, Boson , homme ambitieux et intrigant, se fait proclamer roi de Provence (879). Il choisit Arles comme capitale et prend le titre de « roi d'Arles ». Pour mieux se défendre contre le roi des Francs, il se déclare vassal de l'Empereur de ce que l'on appelera ensuite le St Empire Romain-Germanique. Il pense que l'Empereur est un maître lointain, par conséquent de peu de pouvoir. Il espère se libérer bientôt de son nouveau suzerain. Aussi, malgré plusieurs guerres, les rois des Francs ne peuvent lui ravir son titre. Guillaume le libérateur a le mérite de déloger les Sarrasins et de les chasser définitivement de la Provence (973). Guillaume III profite de l'excommunication des empereurs d'Allemagne par le pape pour se considérer comme indépendant. C'est l'époque de la Féodalité pendant laquelle chaque petit seigneur est en lutte avec ses voisins. L'Eglise atteint le sommet de sa puissance. Les offrandes des croyants, pauvres ou fortunés, enrichissent les abbayes de Montmajour et de Saint-Victor. De nouvelles abbayes se créent (Apt, Lagnes, Sylvacane, Montrieux). Profitant de cette prépondérance, les évêques poursuivant leur rôle civilisateur, s'élèvent contre les luttes de seigneur à seigneur dont souffrent tant les paysans, en imposant la « Trêve de Dieu ». De retour de Clermont, où il était allé prêcher la Croisade aux populations du Nord, le pape Urbain II parle à Avignon, Cavaillon, Apt et Arles. Enthousiasmés, les Provençaux se croisent au nombre de 100.000 sous le commandement du comte Raymond de Saint-Gilles.

Retour vers le haut

III. LES COMTES DE BARCELONE ET DE PROVENCE (1112-1246)

Ces princes catalans sont très bons pour les Pro­vençaux sur qui ils règnent pendant plus d'un siècle. Raymond-Béranger Ier, comte de Barcelone, obtient par mariage le comté de Provence, sauf la région d'Arles qui appartient aux comtes de Toulouse. Raymond-Béranger III met fin à la révolte des comtes des Baux, qui prétendent à la couronne de Provence. Alphonse Ier impose silence aux comtes de Forcalquier en mariant son fils Alphonse II à leur héritière. Raymond-Béranger V doit reconquérir les villes qui ont profité des embarras de ses prédécesseurs pour se rendre indépendantes. Très aimé pour sa simplicité, pour sa bonhomie, administrateur remarquable, il pacifie la Provence dont il rétablit les finances. Il est alors à la tête de l'un des plus puissants pays d'Europe. Il est l'égal des grands rois de l'époque, de Saint-Louis à qui il marie sa fille aînée Marguerite. Lorsqu'il meurt, il lègue la couronne de Provence à sa quatrième fille, Béatrix, qui épouse peu après Charles d'Anjou, frère du roi de France.

Retour vers le haut

IV. LES DYNASTIES ANGEVINES (1246-1486)

Charles d'Anjou gouverne alors une Provence prospère, riche, rayonnante par sa langue et ses mœurs. Il veut agrandir son domaine. Il se fait nommer roi des Deux-Siciles (Naples et la Sicile) et achète le royaume de Jérusalem. Pour conserver le royaume de Naples, ses descendants seront obligés de lutter sans trêve contre les princes espagnols d'Aragon. Dans cette lutte, la Provence perdra les meilleurs de ses fils et, ruinée, verra la fin de son indépendance. Sous le règne de Louis II, le pape Clément V vient s'installer en Avignon (1305). Pendant 72 ans, les papes y séjournent et font construire le célèbre château, superbe spécimen de l'architecture de l'époque. Robert, fils de Louis II, désigne sa petite-fille Jeanne comme héritière, au grand déplaisir du prince de Duras, son neveu, prétendant à la couronne. Jeanne vit très peu en Provence. Elle préfère son beau royaume de Naples. Elle désigne comme successeur Louis d'Anjou, frère de Charles V, roi de France. Evincé, Charles de Duras la fait étouffer (Lecture). Les villes de Nice, Puget-Théniers, Barcelonnette ne reconnaissent pas l'autorité des nouveaux comtes. Elles se séparent de la Provence et se mettent sous la tutelle des ducs de Savoie (1388). Les trois petits-fils de Louis d'Anjou seront successivement les trois derniers comtes de Provence :

  • Louis III règne peu de temps. Vainqueur des Aragonais à Naples, il ne peut les empêcher de piller Marseille.
  • René hérite de la Provence et du royaume de Naples. Simple et modeste, il aime son peuple dont il est l'idole, mais il n'est pas heureux. Trahi et trop bon pour les traîtres, il perd le royaume de Naples. Il passe ses dernières années en Provence : à Tarascon, à Peyrolles et surtout à Aix où il meurt en 1480 (Lecture).
  • Charles du Maine hérite à son tour. A sa mort (1481), obéissant aux vœux du roi René, il lègue notre pays à Louis XI, roi de France. Il le supplie de « conserver les libertés et les franchises de ses sujets et de les maintenir dans la jouissance de leurs droits et de leurs usages. »
  • Charles VIII prend possession de la Provence en I486.

Le dernier comte de Provence, Charles III, lègue sa couronne au roi de France. Le réglement de succession prévoit que la Provence et la France sont "un principal à un autre principal". Juridiquement, jusqu'en 1789, le roi de France ne règne à Aix qu'en tant que comte de Provence, ce qui permettra aux Provençaux de conserver certains privilèges. Dans les faits, la monarchie française aligne la Provence sur le reste du royaume.