Welcome

Carces information
How to get here
Accommodation suggestions
Eateries

Carces Agenda
Exhibits
Concerts
Conferences
Sports & leisure
And...
Important Dates for Green Provence

Carces Visit
The history
What Carces means to Provence
The terrain of Provence
At the time of the Gauls
Roman Provence
The Counts of Provence
French Provence

Carces Local life
Documentation
Associations
Leisure

Games
Epostcards of Carces
Carces SlideShow
Photos and wallpapers
Puzzle
Sudoku
Memory game

 

Version françaiseDeutsche versionVersione italianaNederlandse versie

Texte tiré du livre : Notre Provence (7 Mo) by F. Garrigue et A. Vérola



The terrain of Provence

Not translate for this moment. If you have time, and if you can help us, send an e-mail... - Automatic Translation

Limits geological History relief
Rivers the coast climate

I - LIMITS

Provence is located at the south-east of France.
It is limited to the south by the Mediterranean, in the west by the Rhone, north by a line active of Bollène in Sisteron and by the valleys of the Durance and Ubaye. To the east, the Italian border follows the valleys of Tinée and Roya.
It has a surface of approximately 25.000 square kilometres, i.e. the l/20ème of France. It measures 215 kilometers from Arles in Nice and 90 kilometers die Barcelonnette in Nice.

Return upwards

II - HISTORY GEOLOGIQUE

The ground, such as we know it today, put several million years to be formed.
During a first time (the scientists say the primary era) existed a continent from which there remain nothing any more but the mountains of the Moors and Estérel.
Much later (tertiary era) place had the rising of the Pyrenees which gave rise to the Small Alps of Provence: Ventoux mount, mountain of Lure, Lubéron, Sainte-Victoire, Sainte-Baume. These mountains, directed of west in is, are only the prolongations of Pyrénée. During the same time, the rising of the Alps draws up in our area the Large Alps of Provence: Pelat mount, chain of Cheiron.
Between the large ones and the small Alps of Provence is a zone of plates: plates of Saint-Christol and Valensole, plan of Canjuers.
During a fourth time (quaternary era), the ground was slowly raised (8 to 10 meters), making emerge the plain of Comtat. The Durance was thrown then in a not very deep sea which it filled little by little. This area constitutes Crau where the thickness of the rollers exceeds by places 15 meters. The alluvia of the Rhone formed the plain of the Camargue.

Return upwards

III - RELIEF

1. The Large Alps. -- They are consisted the south-western part of the large European chain. The highest top is the mount Pelat (3.053 m.) where several important rivers take their source. Unfortunately, certain valleys were deforested inconsiderately. Then the torrents carry the ground and the stones of the mountains and cover with rollers the best fields. To cure this plague and to give to the rivers a more regular mode, the Administration of National Forestry Commission carried out vast afforestations of pines and fir trees.

2. The Small Alps. -- They include/understand:

  • The mount Ventoux (1.912 m.) and the mountain of Lure (1.661 m.) who, in the prolongation one of the other, form only one chain. The northern slope is abrupt, the southern slope goes down soft inclined.
  • Lubéron is held on right bank of the lower Durance.
  • The chain of Sainte-Victoire dominates the valley of the Arc.
  • Sainte-Baume is a single mountain in Provence. Its northern slope has, indeed, a splendid forest (beeches, limes, maples, yews).
  • The small Alps of Provence are chains limestones. The tops form walls with the edges precipice: "baous".

The rare vegetation of the slopes is of three types:

  1. The forest of pines or oaks;
  2. The maquis of thorny brooms (argelas), large heathers, bay-trees, cistuses with hairy sheets, cane-apple bushes;
  3. Scrubland formed especially of odoriferous plants: myrtle, lavender, thyme, rosemary.

3. Moors and Estérel. -- Dominating the sea, these mountains have beautiful forests of cork oaks and chestnuts. But they are especially covered by an impenetrable maquis and seem "a corner of Corsica inserted in Provence".

4. Plates. -- They are held at an altitude of approximately 1.000 meters. In the calcareous ground, the rainwater easily infiltrates and hollow many caves called imbuts. The rivers cut a major bed (gorges of the Verdon).

5. Plains. -- Comtat is a well cultivated flat rich person.

Crau was at the Average Age only one vast desert. In XVIème century, the construction of the channel of Craponne fertilized all the North of this area. The Camargue forms a basin whose western edges and east are approximately four meters height. The center is occupied by the pond of Vaccarès of which the depth is on average 0 m 60. It today is entirely protected by a dam and increases several tens of meters per annum thanks to the contributions of the Rhone.

Return upwards

IV - RIVERS

1. The Rhone and its Affluents. -- the Rhone forms the western limit of Provence. As you know it, it is a very large river. Its flow is equal to those of the Seine, the Loire and the Garonne joined together. Its width between Beaucaire and Tarascon is 450 Mr. But it very fast, is encumbered islands and sand banks, which makes it not very navigable. It passes to Avignon, Tarascon and, with Arles, is divided into two arms: the Large one and the Small Rhone. The Large Rhone moves towards Marseilles and passes to Saint-Louis, the Small Rhone moves towards the Gulf of Lions. Ouvèze sprinkles the plain of Comtat. The Durance takes its source in Hautes-Alpes, but the greatest part of its course proceeds in Provence. It is gigantic a 350 km length torrent to the risings abrupt, dangerous, with the fast slope. It sprinkles Sisteron and Cavaillon. It receives on the right Jabron and Calavon, on the left Ubaye which passes to Barcelonnette, Bléone which passes to Digne, the Adze, and the Verdon which passes to Castellane.

2. Coastal Rivers. -- many small rivers are thrown in the Mediterranean.

  • The valleys of Arc (70 km) and Argens (116 km), in the prolongation one of the other, made it possible to build as of Antiquity a main road which crosses interior Provence.
  • Huveaune takes its source in the solid mass of Sainte-Baume. It passes to Aubagne and is thrown in the sea in Marseilles.
  • VAr (135 km) takes its source with the Pelat mount, passes to Puget-Théniers and is thrown to the sea close to Nice. Its principal affluent is Tinée.

3. The Mode of the Rivers Provençaux. -- the rivers of our area are torrents. In summer, their bed is almost dry. At the times of rains, they grow bigger suddenly and roll a quantity of considerable water. The flow of the Durance can pass in a few hours from 54 to 9.000 cubic meters to the second, that of the Arc from 1 to 700 cubic meters, that of the VAr from 20 to 5.400 cubic meters. These rivers are also characterized by the enormous quantity of materials which they cart and which they deposit in the plain or with their mouth. The alluvia of Argens entirely filled the old Roman port of Frejus. Lastly, in High-Provence, the rivers dig in the tender limestone of the throats to the abrupt walls: large the cañon of the Verdon exceeds 1.000 m of depth. Sometimes even, these rivers disappear completely to reappear further in the form of sources. They are the sources called vauclusiennes, because of the Fountain of Vaucluse, which is most known.

Return upwards

V - The DIMENSION

The coast of Provence is low and marshy in the west to the pond of Berre. These shores are dangerous for navigation because of the sand funds, they are about deserted. In the south and the east, the rock East coast. It forms many courses (Couronne courses, Croisette, Sicié, course of Garoupe). Very often the sea is inserted deeply between the rocks forming our admirable creeks. In the Blackcurrant south-east the highest cliffs of France (400 m) rise. With broad of Hyères three islands so beautiful are that they were called the "Gold islands". The peninsula of Giens was formerly an island that the sands brought by the sea connected to the ground.

Return upwards

VI - CLIMATE

II is characterized by:

  • The dryness;
  • The softness of the temperature ;
  • Mistral.

1. The Dryness. -- the quantity of rain which falls in Provence is about equal to that which the Paris area receives: Paris, 530 Misters; Marseilles, 530 mm; Nice, 750 Misters But while in Paris it rains little, but often (more than 200 days), we on average have only 60 days of rain per annum. Violent ones storms burst, especially in autumn and in spring. Water is carried quickly with the sea by the torrents or disappears quickly in the calcareous ground. Long weeks pass, sometimes of the months without a cloud darkening the sky. The gardens must be irrigated. In the forests, the private trees of water, burned by the sun languish, and the least spark lights terrible fires.

2. The Temperature. -- Thanks to the vicinity of the Mediterranean, the temperature is almost uniform. Its amplitude, i.e. the difference between the temperature of July and that of January is very weak. Paris: 20° -- 2° = 18°; Marseilles: 22° -- 7° = 15°; Nice: 22° -- 10° = 12°.

The winters are very soft, especially on the East coast (Nice has only 10 days of frozen per annum). It is the Riviera to the blue sea, with the pure sky.

3. Mistral. -- the mistral is a cold, dry and impetuous wind which goes down from the mountains of the Cevennes and sweeps the western half of Provence. It is a true plague for the peasants.

accueil Carces

Carces pratique
Plan d'accès
Quelques hébergements
Restauration

Agenda Carces
Expositions
Concerts
Conférences
Sports & loisirs
Et aussi
Dates site Provence verte

Visite Carces
Histoire
Carcès en Provence
La Provence physique
Au temps des Gaulois
La Provence Romaine
Les comtes de Provence
La Provence française

Vie locale de Carces
Dépliants Office Tourisme
Associations
Loisirs

Jeux Provence
Cartes postales virtuelles
Diaporama de Carcès
Photos et fonds d'écran
Puzzle
Sudoku
Mémoire

 

English versionDeutsche versionVersione italianaNederlandse versie

Texte tiré du livre : Notre Provence (7 Mo) par F. Garrigue et A. Vérola



La Provence physique

Limites Histoire géologique Le relief
Les cours d'eaux La côte Le climat

I – LIMITES

La Provence est située au sud-est de la France.
Elle est limitée au sud par la mer Méditerranée, à l'ouest par le Rhône, au nord par une ligne allant de Bollène à Sisteron et par les vallées de la Durance et de l'Ubaye. A l'est, la frontière italienne suit les vallées de la Tinée et de la Roya.
Elle a une surface d'environ 25.000 kilomètres carrés, c'est-à-dire le l/20ème de la France. Elle mesure 215 kilomètres d'Arles à Nice et 90 kilomètres dé Barcelonnette à Nice.

Retour vers le haut

II - HISTOIRE GEOLOGIQUE

Le sol, tel que nous le connaissons aujourd'hui, a mis plusieurs millions d'années pour se former.
Dans une première période (les savants disent l'ère primaire) existait un continent dont il ne reste plus que les montagnes des Maures et de l'Estérel.
Bien plus tard (ère tertiaire) eut lieu le soulèvement des Pyrénées qui donna naissance aux Petites Alpes de Provence : mont Ventoux, montagne de Lure, Lubéron, Sainte-Victoire, Sainte-Baume. Ces montagnes, dirigées d'ouest en est, ne sont que les prolongements des Pyrénée. Durant la même époque, le soulèvement des Alpes dresse dans notre région les Grandes Alpes de Provence : mont Pelat, chaîne du Cheiron.
Entre les grandes et les petites Alpes de Provence se trouve une zone de plateaux : plateaux de Saint-Christol et de Valensole, plan de Canjuers.
Dans une quatrième période (ère quaternaire), le sol s'est lentement soulevé (8 à 10 mètres), faisant émerger la plaine du Comtat. La Durance se jetait alors dans une mer peu profonde qu'elle a comblée peu à peu. Cette région constitue la Crau où l'épaisseur des galets dépasse par endroits 15 mètres. Les alluvions du Rhône ont formé la plaine de la Camargue.

Retour vers le haut

III - LE RELIEF

1. Les Grandes Alpes. — Elles sont constituées par la partie sud-ouest de la grande chaîne européenne. Le sommet le plus élevé est le mont Pelat (3.053 m.) où plusieurs rivières importantes prennent leur source. Malheureusement, certaines vallées ont été déboisées inconsidérément. Alors les torrents emportent la terre et les pierres des montagnes et recouvrent de galets les meilleurs champs. Pour remédier à ce fléau et donner aux rivières un régime plus régulier, l'Administration des Eaux et Forêts a effectué de vastes reboisements de pins et de sapins.

2. Les Petites Alpes. — Elles comprennent :

  • Le mont Ventoux (1.912 m.) et la montagne de Lure (1.661 m.) qui, dans le prolongement l'un de l'autre, forment une seule chaîne. Le versant nord est abrupt, le versant sud descend en pente douce.
  • Le Lubéron se déroule sur la rive droite de la Durance inférieure.
  • La chaîne de Sainte-Victoire domine la vallée de l'Arc.
  • La Sainte-Baume est une montagne unique en Provence. Son versant nord possède, en effet, une forêt magnifique (hêtres, tilleuls, érables, ifs).
  • Les petites Alpes de Provence sont des chaînes calcaires. Les sommets forment des murailles aux rebords abrupts : les « baous ».

La rare végétation des pentes est de trois types :

  1. La forêt de pins ou de chênes ;
  2. Le maquis de genêts épineux (argelas), de grandes bruyères, de lauriers, de cistes à feuilles velues, d'arbousiers ;
  3. La garrigue formée surtout de plantes odoriférantes : myrte, lavande, thym, romarin.

3. Les Maures et l'Estérel. — Dominant la mer, ces montagnes possèdent de belles forêts de chênes-lièges et de châtaigniers. Mais elles sont surtout couvertes par un maquis impénétrable et semblent « un coin de Corse enfoncé dans la Provence ».

4. Les Plateaux. — Ils se déroulent à une altitude de 1.000 mètres environ. Dans le sol calcaire, l'eau de pluie s'infiltre facilement et creuse des grottes nombreuses appelées imbuts. Les rivières se taillent un lit profond (gorges du Verdon).

5. Les Plaines. — Le Comtat est une riche plaine bien cultivée.

La Crau n'était au Moyen Age qu'un vaste désert. Au XVIème siècle, la construction du canal de Craponne a fertilisé tout le Nord de cette région. La Camargue forme une cuvette dont les bords ouest et est ont environ quatre mètres de hauteur. Le centre est occupé par l'étang de Vaccarès dont la profondeur est en moyenne de 0 m 60. Elle est aujourd'hui entièrement protégée par une digue et s'agrandit de plusieurs dizaines de mètres par an grâce aux apports du Rhône.

Retour vers le haut

IV - LES COURS D'EAUX

1. Le Rhône et ses Affluents. — Le Rhône forme la limite ouest de la Provence. Comme vous le savez, c'est un très grand fleuve. Son débit est égal à ceux de la Seine, de la Loire et de la Garonne réunis. Sa largeur entre Beaucaire et Tarascon est de 450 m. Mais il est très rapide, encombré d'îles et de bancs de sable, ce qui le rend peu navigable. Il passe à Avignon, Tarascon et, à Arles, se divise en deux bras : le Grand et le Petit Rhône. Le Grand Rhône se dirige vers Marseille et passe à Saint-Louis, le Petit Rhône se dirige vers le golfe du Lion. L'Ouvèze arrose la plaine du Comtat. La Durance prend sa source dans les Hautes-Alpes, mais la plus grande partie de son cours se déroule en Provence. C'est un gigantesque torrent de 350 km de long aux crues brusques, dangereuses, à la pente rapide. Elle arrose Sisteron et Cavaillon. Elle reçoit à droite le Jabron et le Calavon, à gauche l'Ubaye qui passe à Barcelonnette, la Bléone qui passe à Digne, l'Asse, et le Verdon qui passe à Castellane.

2. Les Fleuves Côtiers. — De nombreux petits cours d'eau se jettent dans la Méditerranée.

  • Les vallées de l'Arc (70 km) et de l'Argens (116 km), dans le prolongement l'une de l'autre, ont permis de construire dès l'Antiquité une grande route qui traverse la Provence intérieure.
  • L'Huveaune prend sa source dans le massif de la Sainte-Baume. Elle passe à Aubagne et se jette dans la mer à Marseille.
  • Le Var (135 km) prend sa source au mont Pelat, passe à Puget-Théniers et se jette à la mer près de Nice. Son principal affluent est la Tinée.

3. Le Régime des Cours d'Eaux Provençaux. — Les cours d'eau de notre région sont des torrents. En été, leur lit est presque sec. Aux époques de pluies, ils grossissent subitement et roulent une quantité d'eau considérable. Le débit de la Durance peut passer en quelques heures de 54 à 9.000 mètres cubes à la seconde, celui de l'Arc de 1 à 700 mètres cubes, celui du Var de 20 à 5.400 mètres cubes. Ces cours d'eau se caractérisent aussi par l'énorme quantité de matériaux qu'ils charrient et qu'ils déposent dans la plaine ou à leur embouchure. Les alluvions de l'Argens ont entièrement comblé l'ancien port romain de Fréjus. Enfin, dans la Haute-Provence, les rivières creusent dans le calcaire tendre des gorges aux parois abruptes : le grand cañon du Verdon dépasse 1.000 m de profondeur. Quelquefois même, ces rivières disparaissent complètement pour reparaître plus loin sous forme de sources. Ce sont les sources appelées vauclusiennes, à cause de la Fontaine de Vaucluse, qui est la plus connue.

Retour vers le haut

V - LA COTE

La côte provençale est basse et marécageuse à l'ouest jusqu'à l'étang de Berre. Ces rivages sont dangereux pour la navigation à cause des fonds de sable, ils sont à peu près déserts. Au sud et à l'est, la côte est rocheuse. Elle forme de nombreux caps (caps Couronne, Croisette, Sicié, cap de la Garoupe). Très souvent la mer s'enfonce profondément entre les rochers formant nos admirables calanques. Au sud-est de Cassis s'élèvent les falaises les plus hautes de France (400 m). Au large d'Hyères se trouvent trois îles si belles qu'on les a appelées les « îles d'Or ». La presqu'île de Giens était autrefois une île que les sables apportés par la mer ont reliée à la terre.

Retour vers le haut

VI - LE CLIMAT

II est caractérisé par :

  • La sécheresse ;
  • La douceur de la température ;
  • Le mistral.

1. La Sécheresse. — La quantité de pluie qui tombe en Provence est à peu près égale à celle que reçoit la région parisienne : Paris, 530 mm. ; Marseille, 530 mm ; Nice, 750 mm. Mais tandis qu'à Paris il pleut peu, mais souvent (plus de 200 jours), nous n'avons en moyenne que 60 jours de pluie par an. De violents orages éclatent, surtout en automne et au printemps. L'eau est emportée rapidement à la mer par les torrents ou disparaît vite dans le sol calcaire. De longues semaines passent, quelquefois des mois sans qu'un nuage obscurcisse le ciel. Les jardins doivent être irrigués. Dans les forêts, les arbres privés d'eau, brûlés par le soleil languissent, et la moindre étincelle allume de terribles incendies.

2. La Température. — Grâce au voisinage de la Méditerranée, la température est presque uniforme. Son amplitude, c'est-à-dire la différence entre la température de juillet et celle de janvier est très faible. Paris : 20° — 2° = 18° ; Marseille : 22°—7° = 15° ; Nice : 22° — 10° =12°.

Les hivers sont très doux, surtout sur la côte Est (Nice n'a que 10 jours de gelée par an). C'est la Côte d'Azur à la mer bleue, au ciel pur.

3. Le Mistral. — Le mistral est un vent froid, sec et impétueux qui descend des montagnes des Cévennes et balaye la moitié ouest de la Provence. C'est un véritable fléau pour les paysans..